Viva Vivaldi

Venue: Fairchild Theatre, MSU Auditorium

Joanne and Bill Church WEST CIRCLE SERIES

From the “Magnificat” to the “Four Seasons,” the voice of the “Red Priest” resounds across the centuries. Featuring violinist Dmitri Berlinsky with the International Chamber Soloists, the University Chorale conducted by David Rayl, and concerto appearances by Michael Kroth, bassoon, and Suren Bagratuni, cello.

$15 for adults, $12 for seniors, $5 for students – available from College of Music box office, (517) 353-5340, online at, or at the door.

Generously sponsored by William David Brohn and Byron and Dee Cook


Magnificat, RV 610                                    

  • Magnificat anima mea
  • Et exultavit

                                             Katherine Nunn, soprano; Holly Lewis, mezzo-soprano; Kristopher Schave, tenor

  • Et misericordia eius
  • Fecit potentiam
  • Deposuit potentes
  • Esurientes

                                             Meredith Bowen, soprano; Elizabeth Hermanson, mezzo-soprano

  • Suscepit Israel
  • Sicut locutus est
  • Gloria patri…Sicut erat in principio…Et in saecula saeculorum

                                             University Chorale
                                          David Rayl, conductor

Concerto for Bassoon in A minor, RV 497

  • Allegro molto
  • Andante molto
  • Allegro

                                            Michael Kroth, bassoon

Concerto for Cello in D minor, RV 404

  • Allegro
  • Adagio affettuoso
  • Largo
  • Allegro vivace

                                            Suren Bagratuni, cello

The Four Seasons

Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, "La primavera" (Spring) 

  • Allegro 
  • Largo e pianissimo sempre 
  • Allegro pastorale

Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8, RV 315, "L'estate" (Summer)

  • Allegro non molto 
  • Adagio e piano – Presto e forte 
  • Presto

Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293, "L'autunno" (Autumn) 

  • Allegro
  • Adagio molto 
  • Allegro

Concerto No. 4 in F minor, Op. 8, RV 297, "L'inverno" (Winter) 

  • Allegro non molto 
  • Largo 
  • Allegro

                                            Dmitri Berlinsky, violin, and the International Chamber Soloists

Filed under: